Replacement of Historic Structures Over Delaware Canal

Delaware CanalFebruary 22, 2012

BUCKS COUNTY, Penn. - The Delaware Canal is the only remaining continuously intact canal of the great towpath canal building era of the early and mid-19th century. This linear state park provides public access to its 60-mile towpath and waterway which parallels the Delaware River between Easton and Bristol, Pennsylvania.

Completed in 1832, the Delaware Canal was used into the early twentieth century until the railroad systems came into popularity. Although the Delaware River was used as a form of transportation in the 1800’s, it was not user friendly. The state decided to construct a canal that would make the shipping of goods up and down the east coast easier and much more reliable. Coal from up state Pennsylvania was the major commodity and it came across the Lehigh Canal to Easton where it joined the Delaware Canal. From here, coal could be shipped down the canal to the tidal waters of the Delaware River at Bristol. For ease of construction, the canal parallels the course of the river, in some spots it even appears they share the same bank.

Bridge Over Delaware CanalThe Pennsylvania Department of Conservation and Natural Resources (DCNR) recently requested the professional services of CCJM to replace the superstructure for Five Lane Bridge over Delaware Canal in Tinicum Township, Bucks County and the bridge carrying Upper Limeport Road over Delaware Canal in Solebury Township, Bucks County.

These two bridges are typical for the unique style of wooden red truss bridge used throughout the length of the canal, most of which were built in the 1930s when the canal ceased operation.

The recognizable red canal bridge style will be carefully re-created in the replacement structures in a context-sensitive design.

For additional information, please contact: